details matter

As a molecular biologist (for at least some of the time – it’s one of my hats), I guess I would say that.

Here’s another application –  CS Lewis on why the ‘hallway’ of ‘Mere Christianity’ is not enough (one of my pet peeves is the widespread antagonism towards denominations and theological debates within Christian circles, as if being your standard NZ charismatic/pentecostal baptist-lite wasn’t a theological view with denominational influences) :

“But you must regard it as waiting, not as camping. You must keep on praying for light: and, of course, even in the hall, you must begin trying to obey the rules which are common to the whole house. And above all you must be asking which door is the true one; not which pleases you best by its paint and panelling. In plain language, the question should never be: ‘Do I like that kind of service?’ but ‘Are these doctrines true: Is holiness here? Does my conscience move me towards this? Is my reluctance to knock at this door due to my pride, or my mere taste, or my personal dislike of this particular door-keeper?’”

Leave a Reply

