Big Dan on science and philosophy

I don’t often like what Daniel Dennett says, but when I do … I post in on my blog.

“The history of philosophy is the history of very tempting mistakes made by very smart people, and if you don’t learn that history you’ll make those mistakes again and again and again. One of the ignoble joys of my life is watching very smart scientists just reinvent all the second-rate philosophical ideas because they’re very tempting until you pause, take a deep breath and take them apart.”

From this article: [link]

Of course, what he considers a second-rate philosophical idea and what I do probably differs somewhat, but that’s life.

Leave a Reply

