humbling

I just read this, I think published in 1999

“Increasingly, powerful computers and software are harnessing and trying to interpret the relentless torrent of data generated by techniques new and old. These yeast technologies are emerging at a dizzying pace; in 50 years the transcript profile of today will seem as quaint as a replica-plating experiment.”

It’s humbling as I spent months doing replica plating experiments (with some additions), and largely failing – and I had no idea how ‘quaint’ the method now is. :S If I’d realised that it used to be quite a common technique (I thought it was quite ‘niche’), I would have spent a little more time researching it, bought the right materials, and potentially saved myself a lot of time and frustration. C’est la vie.

Leave a Reply

